Hello from the San Francisco Bay Area

Newbie here... although I've had this model ship on a shelf in my house for almost 30 years. Bought it at a local antique shop at the time.  I was wondering if any members can tell me anything about it (what kind of ship, etc?)  and what it might be worth in its present condition. Measures about 18-20 inches at the waterline.  Dust and gravity have taken a toll on the rigging it seems.  I'll be selling it to someone local who wants to take on this restoration project. I have the metal wall-mount brackets for it also.

IMG_3121.jpg

IMG_3131.jpg

IMG_3133.jpg

IMG_3135.jpg

IMG_3225.jpg

IMG_3122.jpg

IMG_3125.jpg

I hate to tell you this, but that appears to be a generic galleon probably made in southern Europe.  They were made as decorations like vases and people bought them for that reason.  Value will be pretty much what you can get for it as they really aren't worth much.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever:           

CH-53 Sikorsky - 1:48 - Revell - Completed                                                   Licorne - 1755 from Hahn Plans (Scratch) Version 2.0 (Abandoned)         

• 1 month later...