What is channel bends?

White

Hi, I'm novice here. I'm trying to translate a book. Could you help me?

What is channel bends in the text below (the text is already in public domain)?

In entering dock, carried away starboard cathead and started starboard chain plates; held survey of damage done: decided to take off channel bends, renew through bolts, straighten plates and replace same; also to renew cathead and caulk ship's side in wake of plate, six seams, &c. &c.

Thank you.

Edited by White
punctuation mistake

White, 

Welcome aboard MSW.  

Can you tell us the source of this quote?    It is a new term for me, but based on the few words they give regarding renewing the through bolts, it sounds like it MAY be that this is the strip of wood molding (moulding)  that goes on the outboard edges of the channels which would cover the through bolts and close the slots in which the deadeye chains fit.  Remove this molding, replace the bolts, then replace the molding &c.    Hope someone has a clear answer regarding what this term is.

Allan

Edited by allanyed

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU

Good Evening Gentlemen;

This is a good example of how words shifted in meaning over the years. The most recent meaning of 'bend' is actually the frame timbers, or 'ribs' of the ship.