Youtube photoetching tutorial

I found this very nice and in depth tutorial of how to use Micro-Marks photoetching kit.

If this is the best tutorial I will leave up for discussion.

Please, visit our Facebook page!

Respectfully

Per aka Dr. Per@Therapy for Shipaholics 
593661798_Keepitreal-small.jpg.f8a2526a43b30479d4c1ffcf8b37175a.jpg

Finished: T37, BB Marie Jeanne - located on a shelf in Sweden, 18th Century Longboat, Winchelsea Capstan

Current: America by Constructo, Solö Ruff, USS Syren by MS, Bluenose by MS

Viking funeral: Harley almost a Harvey

Nautical Research Guild Member - 'Taint a hobby if you gotta hurry

Thanks, very nice explanations.

Two points about the video:  first, he handles the resist film with bare fingers. This should be avoided, fingerprints are not desirable; and the hydrogen peroxide in his process is 3% (a.k.a. 10 vol) which is not explained.

As I used to be an etcher by trade, I feel qualified to offer another couple of observations. The copy-paper and resist in the kit looks well suited to the home etcher, the occasional user. We don't know from this video what instructions are given for storage and handling but whatever they are, obey them! It is very common, especially with the light sensative resist, that the product 'dies' between uses because of temperature or light spoilage while in storage.