Were there any swivel guns on first class ships?

Hello everyone,

Forgive me if this question has already been answered or doesn't make sense to you, but I'm relatively new to historical ship modeling. My research was inconclusive, I didn't find a clear answer, that's why I'm asking you, there are so many experts among you, it's incredible.

I have noticed that small ships like sloops and frigates are often armed with swivel guns and I have rarely seen this type of armament on larger ships like first classes.

So, did they have any? If not, why not? It seems to me that for close combat, they would have the same usefulness as on small ships?

Thanks in advance

Hi cbill,

In answer to your question, certainly as late as the Napoleonic wars First Rates carried swivel guns.  There is strictly contemporary evidence of Victory having 3 swivel guns mounted on a rail at the break of the Poop Deck at Trafalgar, as evidenced by a watercolour made by JMW Turner in December 1805 (see below).  This was somewhat unusual as they were normally mounted in the fighting tops, but Nelson did not like small arms fire in close proximity to the sails.  In this instance it had been shot away during the battle but was subsequently reinstated at Gibraltar during temporary refitting.

Although not First Rates there is also evidence of swivels at this time being mounted on capstans for example, so it seems almost any convenient place.

Please do take the time out to introduce yourself in the ‘New Member Introductions’ section, and welcome to MSW.

Gary

81751C82-3F1B-4709-83F3-B095B97C6C02.jpeg

15 hours ago, cbill said:

I have noticed that small ships like sloops and frigates are often armed with swivel guns and I have rarely seen this type of armament on larger ships like first classes.

Hi Bill