Hi,

After reading both the Triton plans and Modelshipbuilders amazing Eagle practicum ( and the MA thesis on which it is based) i came to finaly realize that keels aren't uniformly thick but taper at the bow and stern. Since im a completel newbie when it comes to scratchbuilding im not quite certain on how to achieve this effect or if a tapered keel is even necessary/ desirable on a scale model.

Can you please give me some advise on that matter?

Thanks in advance,

Daniel

There has been much discussion on where the taper begins. In a large scale model it will be apparent if the keel is not tapered: the stern post will be too wide at the bottom, and the fore end of the gripe (lowest part of the stem timbers) will appear too 'fat'. I taper my models' keels starting where the cant frames  (those that are placed at varying angles to the keel) commence fore and aft. 

May I recommend you read some books on the ships of the era you are interested in?

Be sure to sign up for an epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series  http://trafalgar.tv

Thanks for the quick answer. I have read a number of books, guides and shipplans for pof scratchbuilding yet non have so far mentioned the taper of a ship's keel. For example, I plan to build Victorine (once i have assembled the necessary tools) but Portia Takakjian's plans, while otherwise excelent, don't seem to give any information regarding that problem either. Now i wonder if i am missing something or if this detail is just usualy not included in sheer/half breath and deck plans and has to be found in secondary literature about the desired ship itself.

Daniel,