Fair American by captain.jerry - Model Shipways

The kit has been ordered (backorder).  I first saw this ship about 50 years ago.  A friend was building the MS Kit that was a solid machine carved hull back then.  The lines of this ship really spoke to me. I don't know why.  I didn't have the money for the MS kit at the time but I looked around and found a good deal on a kit from Boucher (now Bluejacket) which I worked on sporadically over a 10 year period, getting it almost to completion and then decided to de-rig it and store it away for a retirement project.

I have some modeling experience. My dad was an amatuer artist and had an amazing eye for detail.  With him and my brother, we built and flew model airplanes, stick frames, paper covered.  We also got into model trains, building kits and scratch building.  After retirement, I took an interest in model steam engines and have designed and built a few.  That of course requires machine tools and have a fairly well equipped shop including lathe, milling machine, drill press and assorted metal working tools.

I have some woodworking experience as well.  I worked in sales for the old Shopsmith company in the '60s and then for Dewalt when their only product was radial arm saws.  DeWalt was aquired by Black and Decker so I have some history there as well.  My current shop also has some woodworking equipmentl.

I have a little experience with sailing as too.  When I first retired, my wife and I moved aboard our 37' sailboat and left the Chesapeake Bay headed for The Bahamas.  We returned to the bay a few times but spent most of the next ten years living aboard and cruising between Florida and The Bahamas.

Now, as I wait for the delivery of my Fair American kit, I have been reading the build logs for this ship here on this forum and I am sure that I will re-read them many times. I see that there is a lot of discussion about the details of the design, particularly the poop deck and aft cabin,  So, I have some questions