Bon Retour by HakeZou - FINISHED - Artesania Latina - 1/25 scale - First wooden ship build

The much anticipated package arrived this morning! My goals for the morning were to unbox, inventory, and cut out the pieces for Step #1. (I've read Invictaag's build log about 4 or 5 times over the past two weeks, so feel comfortable with the instructions. I've also read Philthy's build log, but since he made some improvisations and alterations, I'm relying less on that one; probably a better source for those with more experience who can better appreciate what he's doing.) Since I'm a beginner, I'm not sure how useful my build log will be for others, but I know I'll have questions along the way and will appreciate all the help this community can offer! 

As a newbie, I have made a point to label all the parts, so I start learning their names. This was not always easy, since the inventory list in the instructions assumes a certain level of knowledge that I don't have yet. I'm mostly comfortable with all of that now, except for the long pieces tied together (planking, masts, etc.). I'm not 100% certain which pieces are which there. Easy enough to tell the difference between basswood, walnut, and mahogany, so I'll just have to measure pieces as I get closer in order to distinguish them. The inventory list assumes that some of the long pieces of walnut are already cut into smaller pieces, too. (Side note for others who might do this kit: piece #22 is omitted from the Spanish/English inventory list. They are in the French/German list, however, and form part of the bulwark on the main deck.)

Some photos of the unboxing, inventory, and pieces for Step #1. Unfortunately, I caused some minor damage to piece #10 of the frame, which was the first one I cut out. I quickly figured out a better technique, though, and so all the rest are in good shape.

Next step for me: sanding the pieces for Step #1.

fullsizeoutput_138d.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_138e.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_138f.jpeg