Bearding line on Caldercraft HM Brig Supply

Hi Guys

I'm hoping someone could help me here please?

I recently found a started build of the above kit in my garage, one i began many years ago. The kit is partly built up, upto and including the frames and deck. I need to start the planking (which is why it sat in my garage for so long 😔) I've never built one with a bearding line before and would like to give it a try.

So my question is to you guys who have built this kit: how thick would the stern be to allow for the double planking? If the width is 5.65mm how much do i need to shave off each side? 

I will start a diary as well if anyone would be interested?

Thanks in advance

Gray

I don't know if this will work without pictures,  but what you want is for the ends of the planking, both layers, to fit flush with the stern post; with that in mind you want to shave the bearding area to account for that.

To some extent you can blend the 1st planking into the bearding area  short of the stern post, so it won't necessarily be necessary to shave the bearding area to the total depth of both layers of planking.

If you need more info just say so and i will try to round up some illustration.

“Indecision may or may not be my problem.”
― Jimmy Buffett

Current builds:    Rattlesnake (Scratch From MS Plans 

On Hold:  HMS Resolution ( AKA Ferrett )

In the Gallery: Yacht Mary,  Gretel, French Cannon

Gray