HMS Victory by Quthinh - Mantua/Sergal - 1:78

Hi,

I’m a new member to this forum and this is my first attempt at wooden ship building. I have some experience with plastic model before (airplane, tank, car) but never dare to attempt a ship build before. The rigging (even for modern ship) scares me away.  Yet I’ve always been a ship fan especially those sailing ships. 

Years ago I visited the San Diego maritime museum where they displayed lots of ship models and wished I could work on one. Well, after searching on the internet, I came across a lot of scratch builds or kits that required wood working skill, which is way out of my league.  So I gave up on making one myself - If I came across this forum then, a different outcome would have taken place :)

About a month ago, I came upon a wooden ship built log by chance and it sparked my interest again. With some modeling experience on my belt, I thought I could give it another try. Not knowing where to buy wooden ship kit, I searched on ebay and craiglist and came across a half built HMS Victory, a perfect chance to get my feet wet. 

The hull and deck have been built though there are evidences that it was damaged from a fall (dented hull, etc). It was offered for what I thought a great deal so I drove 2hrs to pick it up, and here I am. 

in an effort to find info on the ship, I came to this forum, stared my new member into and my first half build log.  I got warm welcome from several members, and they helped me identify the manufacturer of my model. 

Here are the pictures of the ship when it came to my home.  My plan is to clean up the damages, verify the available parts and decide how to proceed without a manual.