Oil paint varnish help

var1.jpg.22f7435927216c00fa708b28dd77ce9e.jpg

I have a question about oil paint varnish. This is my first time using oil paint. I applied paint layers like this.

var3.jpg.04a1df44528eb24bc801bd7255b2a138.jpg

I used Winsor & Newton Liquin medium to accelerate the drying of oil paint. 

var2.jpg.2327606527c4c2db0416f2491f6aa72b.jpg

The entire model went horribly wrong once I applied the lacquer spray. 😱 It didn't happen when I tested the oil paint and lacquer spray.

How can I fix the cracked surface? which oil varnish should I use in this case?

It's difficult to tell from the photo exactly what's happened to the finish, but from what I can see and you've described, it appears that the spray lacquer employed a very "hot" solvent which reacted with the oil paint, "skinning over" (drying quickly on the surface with greatest exposure to the air) and when the lower level of the lacquer dried, it "shrunk" and created the "crackle" finish on the drier top of the lacquer coat. Such problems are almost always the result of incompatible coatings with different drying or adhesion characteristics. 

It may also be a function of the incompatibility of the acrylic basecoat and the oil paint over it. Some reaction between the "hot" lacquer solvent and the oil paint causing the oil paint to soften may have resulted in the oil paint being pulled away from the acrylic base coat as the oil paint dissolved by the lacquer solvent shrunk when the solvent evaporated.

The different result you had when you tested the coatings on the "coating paper" may have been due to the paper's porosity or surface flexibility permitting the lacquer solvent to evaporate without creating tension between the lacquer and the lower coating layers.

Another possibility, and this is a wild guess, is that the drier you used on the oil paint reacted with the lacquer solvent, causing the lacquer to dry more quickly than it should have which caused the crackling in the lacquer.