Buccaneer by ToniSk - OcCre - 1:100 - first build

Hello, everybody.

I'm a first time ship builder starting out with the Buccaneer by Occre. So far, I'm really enjoying myself but have quickly come face to face with my lack of knowledge and experience about anything and everything relating to ships. The first planking is kicking my butt but I'm trying my hardest and not giving up. I do have a bit of experience building dollhouses and surprisingly that's been of great help to me so far. But, we'll see.

I've only taken a few pics so far but I'll share more as I move forward. If any of you spot obvious mistakes that I'm making or have any suggestions how I might do a better job, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks for reading and thanks for having me!

Buccaneer1.jpg

Buccaneer2.jpg

Buccaneer3.jpg

Buccaneer4.jpg

Buccaneer5.jpg

Welcome! Looks like an interesting kit you're building.

Although I'm certainly not an expert, I notice that the bulkheads still have a lot of char on the edge. You'll have a smoother time planking, and will have a better gluing surface, if you fair them more with a flexible sanding stick. You can use a batten (thin, flexible wood strip) to test for fairness: holding it across several bulkheads, it should be in contact with all of them with no gaps, while flowing smoothly without lumps. You may want to check out the planking resources here: https://thenrg.org/resource/articles

For a double-planked hull, you can smooth out the first layer with a bit of putty (not too much, though) and sanding once you remove the nails.

How are you bending your planks?

Looking forward to following this build!

Thanks for the link and the suggestions, JC. I particularly like your tip for using a batten. That should help me out a lot. I'll give the bulkheads a better sanding as well.