How to fix glue blotches?

Hi,

I am new to staining and, after staining the stern on my current build - the Mayflower - there is some pretty noticeable blotching.  I am thinking this is from the CA glue I used to install the planks.  I am trying to be extra careful with the glue, but a bit had leaked through in those spots and I think I wiped it to get rid of the extra.  I thought I had sanded it enough prior to staining, but apparently not... :D

I did use the pre-stain wood conditioner and am using water-based stain: Minwax Colonial Walnut Wood-Sheen.

What would be the easiest way to fix this?  Sand it all right down to the raw wood again and then re-stain?  Or tear up the planks and re-do them, being more careful with the glue?

Also, what's the best way to ensure this doesn't happen when I start planking the rest of the hull (other than not wiping any excess glue away... B))?

Thanks!

post-5545-0-42842500-1380380719_thumb.jpg

I have not had this problem on my planks as I always use PVA glue for my planking. However on other parts of the ship where this has happened i have just sanded lightly over the area and restrained as I have done for my decking. Sometimes using a scraper carefully you can scrape that stain off.

Regards, Scott

Current build: 1:75 Friesland, Mamoli

Completed builds:

1:64 Rattlesnake, Mamoli  -  1:64 HMS Bounty, Mamoli  -  1:54 Adventure, Amati  -  1:80 King of the Mississippi, AL

1:64 Blue Shadow, Mamoli  -  1:64 Leida Dutch pleasure boat, Corel  -  1:60 HMS President Mantra, Sergal

Awaiting construction:

1:89 Hermione La Fayette AL  -  1:48 Perserverance, Modelers shipyard

I would like to hear the answer to this as well. The same problem afflicts my model. 

S.Coleman, the blotches that you see are areas where the stain has failed to stain the wood because of the glue. Even if you scrape off the glue post hoc, you will still be left with a lighter area. 

Regards, Keith