Hr Ms O-1 by FreekS - RADIO - first Dutch submarine 1906-1920, 1:32 - Finished

Hello all,

This is my first build log on the forum, and my third ship overall. The first was a Dutch Navy contemporary frigate Zr Ms de Zeven Provincien, and the second a world war 2 submarine, Hr Ms K-XVIII. Both are radio controlled and both hulls were made with the bread and butter method. That worked out very well for these larger vessels but now I intend to build a much smaller sub and will need to be much more economical with space.

So this will be my first hull built out of wood with planks on ribs.

Hr Ms O-1 was a Holland-class submarine built as a private venture by Wilton Feijenoord and sold to the Dutch Navy when it has passed some trials set as condition for her purchase. In subsequent exercises she proved very capable to defeat the then surface ships of the Dutch Navy. She patrolled the North Sea during WW1 (but thankfully the Netherlands remained neutral throughout that conflict).

O-1_zps2981a52b.png

The Holland boats have beautiful lines, and I was hooked when I saw a working model of an Austrian Holland class at a meeting in Lichtenstein some years back.

Please feel free to comment and advise as I have some experience, but little in this kind of hull building especially.

Groeten, Freek

30603a9c3c0b8e256fe00de2bef13633_zps7cfa

IMG_0706_zpsbc90ccb8.jpg

Edited by FreekS

Hi John,

I plan to install a bayonet closure roughly 1/3rd distance from the stern. All the technical pieces will then be mounted on a rack attached to the stern part and pulled out of the front. It will be tricky to mount the motor and propellor assembly and the pushrods used to operate the dive planes and rudder.