How do you stick the guns in?

I am a real Newbie idiot with a stupid question... I have seen lots of kits and they look splendid with those 3 decks of guns. When the hull is built, the planking goes all the way from top to bottom. Then you cut out square holes for the gun ports. So how do you put in the guns (on their trolleys) on, say, the third deck down? There is nowhere to put them?? Do you just poke the brass casting through the gunport and put in a dollop of glue?? I have looked at a few instructions, but still no help!!

Jimmie from Brissie in Ozzie

Jimmie,

The lower deck guns are "false" guns. They are simply a barrel with a "tang" on the end. Behind the gunports will be a strip or block of wood. A hole is drilled in this to accept the tang of the gun. A jig is usually made and used to ensure the hole is centred in the gun port.

Hope that answers your question.

That, or the guns are put in place as you go: each deck is fully equipped with gun and the lot before the next deck is going in.

Or, somewhere in between: the guncariages are plced, and the guns are glued in afterqwards, like in the Victory prototype build by Chris watton;

victoryprogforsergio4zp.jpg

Jan

Edited by amateur

Thanks guys, so thats how it is done . I guess in real life they would have manhandled the guns in pieces down all those stairs. Or did they store the guns on each deck before they put on the hull? That is why the cross sections are so interesting - think I might do one!! I have got Victory kit and also San Martin - dont know which one to do first!

jimmy from Brissie in Ozzie

Hello Jimmy

Do the easier and less attractive first. That way, you will learn as you go and if you spoil something, it will not hurt that much. You will get how to do things to apply to your harder and better model.

I an Not familiar with the San Martin, but I would bet that it is a simpler kit than a Victory.

Greetings

There aren't but two options: do it FAST, or do it RIGHT.