Swift by ronv - Artesania Latina - Rebuild

This is my first build log of any type on any forum so I am a little intimidated. Plus I am an old guy and the technology age has passed me by. I have been modeling for many-many years but am still not very good at it. I have three goals in mind. First - I hope, with a log, I might be encouraged to actually finish something. Second - I am sure I can learn a great deal of modeling from you all. Third - To learn the technology... I am going to attempt to upload my first ever picture in my next post.

A little background on my build. I built AL Swift about 25 years ago. I intend to remove the rigging, try to get all the dust off, refinish, add detail and redo the rigging with sails. I have ordered the Petersson book "Rigging Period Fore-And-Aft Craft. I already have his other book. I really don't know what details can be added or even what an early 19th century pilot boat should look like. I am going to start by searching this forum for ideas. I'm sure I'm not the first person to want to improve this old kit.

Ron:

The model looks like it just needs a little TLC. One thing you can look at is to get the gaffs peaked up at a higher angle. That will look better and be more like how they were actually rigged. Have fun.

Russ

Russ, with a better pic you could really see how much TLC it needs. Here is one more with a little more light. I'm now going to start taking Swift apart. Could someone help me find some detail shots of a pilot boat from this era, or maybe a build log of someone that has improved this kit?

post-2556-0-54752300-1408045616_thumb.jpg

Edited by ronv

I have disassembled swift and started cleaning. The hull planking is damaged to the point that I am considering paint. The plans for the model are long gone so I have nothing to reference for location of the waterline. The attached picture is an "eyeball" attempt. What do you think?

post-2556-0-10108800-1408179724_thumb.jpg

Edited by ronv