Basic rigging lines on shrimp boat

Fright

I am currently working on Lindberg's 1:60 Shrimp Boat and I'm at the stage where I need to do my rigging. The diagram in the kit is somewhat useful but I still have some questions due to my lack of experience with parts of a ship, lines, blocks, pulleys etc. So here are my questions:

1) Am I correct in thinking that working lines are usually tan in color and fixed lines are usually black? With a shrimp boat, would some of the lines be wire cable and, if so, would the color be a dirty metal or dirty black? 

2) Are stays and backstays fixed lines and therefore black in color?

3) Are the 'boards' on a shrimp boat made of wood? If so, they should be a brownish color?

4) I've tried to find clear diagrams of rigging used on a Louisiana shrimp boat and I found these two.  On the 2nd diagram, I have been trying to use colored pencils to keep track of position of lines. Like I said, I'm a true layman when it comes to nautical terms! If anyone knows of a site or access to diagrams, I would greatly appreciate the help. Many thanks!

Shrimp-trawl-boat-Source-Maril-1983 (1).png

shrimp boat diagram.jpg

Robert O

Ooof...that's some complicated looking booms and rigging! I'll be very interested to see how this comes along for you. Good luck!

Bob Garcia

"Measure once, cuss twice!"

Current Builds: 

Hms Brig-Sloop Flirt 1782 - Vanguard Models

Pen Duick - Artesania Latina 1:28

Completed: Medway Longboat 1742 - Syren Ship Model Co. 

Member of the Nautical Research Guild

• 2 years later...

I'm looking for the hull plans to make a scratch build for this craft - to have a "Jenny" of my own, would you happen to know or have a pdf or such? I've got the Lindberg model kit, but it's only for reference regarding the cabin and other elements. I'm missing the grid lines for the hull.

The only thing that I know about shrimp boats is that I like to eat what they catch!