Question on sealing hull before painting or applying copper plates, and paint finishes

I'm relatively new to wooden ship modelling and had a few questions on sealing the hull before proceeding to paint and copper plating my US Syren build: 

1) is shellac a good sealer before both copper plating and painting the hull?

2) how does shellac compare to primer? Is it ok to skip sealing the hull and paint on bare wood instead? 

3) after painting, is tung oil a good finish to go over the last coat of paint? Would I need to do this step if I seal the wood before painting? 

4) can i use tung oil to seal the wood before copper plating? 

5) why would one need to seal the hull prior to copper plating? 

Apologies if these questions seem too trivial. I haven't painted or copper plated wooden models before so wanted to get some clarification before attempting. 

Current: 

USF Confederacy - Model Shipways (Build Log)

HMS Pickle - Caldercraft (Build Log)

Complete:

Virgina 1819 - Artesania Latina (Gallery)

U.S. Brig Syren - Model Shipways (Build Log, Gallery)

On the shelf:

Armed Virginia Sloop - Model Shipways

I personaly use primer. I use straight forward sanding sealer if I need to.

I Would not prime or seal where the plates are glued on as bare wood will allow the copper to adhere better.

This also goes for any areas wherePE will be atached.

Paul

In work

Amati-rms-titanic-1912-1250

Unfinished kit

Revell Container-ship-colombo-express

Finished

AL -  King of the Mississippi

AL-Sanson

This is my opinion.  I am not a professional in the paint industry or a professional cabinet maker. Do not take this as authoritative as it reads.    It is just easier to use an imperative verb tense in this case.