Puzzles on bulkhead alignment - MSW 18th Century Armed Longboat (new builder!)

I'll preface this by saying I am very new to ship modelling (this is my first attempt at a wooden ship, though I have plenty of woodworking experience as a furniture maker, FWIW).

The instructions state the bottom edge of the bulkhead should align with the laser-etched bearding line on the keel. The image in the instructions shows this pretty clearly. They also imply that the only correction needed may be to remove material from the bulkhead slot, in order to make it sit lower on the keel.

When I dry-fit the center bulkhead (numbered "0") into the keel, it sits a little less than 1/16" below the bearding line (still barely visible in the photos below). I have not removed any material from the bulkhead slot or it's corresponding spot on the keel, not even removed the laser scorch.

My questions are:

Is this okay, or am I going to run into issues later because the rest of the build assumes the bulkheads all register to the bearding line? The test piece of planking fits okay, not great. I could get a better fit with some cajoling of the edge of the plank that meets the keel, or maybe some plank-bending jujitsu (I've bent wood for furniture, but never planks).

If not, should I ask Model Expo for a new keel / bulkheads?

...Or, is there some other (easy) way to remedy this? One thought I had is to glue in material in the slot, but that seems prone to cause issues down the road. The other idea of mine was to glue the bulkhead in a little higher in the slot, but that seems like it would make its structural integrity questionable, esp. when it comes to faring the hull.