New guy

zeno67

Hello everyone. So I am new to wooden ship building. I have done some plastic modeling in the past. I am also somewhat of a woodworker having completed such projects as a cedar lined hope chest, sofa table and china hutch. So I do have woodworking experience but not at the small detailed level of wooden ship modeling. I purchased two Artesania Latina kits to start with. I had planned on building the Providence Whaling Boat first since it is a beginner kit and a pretty simple boat, however, after reading some opinions on it I decided to go with the Artesania Latina Marie Jeanne tuna fishing boat first. I know its more intermediate and definitely more detail and work, and about the biggest reason for people quitting the hobby and not finishing a boat, is aiming to high, but I think with my current woodworking skills and plastic model experience and the help of these forums, I will be able to manage. I am just drawn more to this model. Its got great lines and and is pleasing to look at.

A little about myself. I am 54 and live in Florida. Been married 21 years but we have no kids (are you kidding, that is why I can afford hobbies like this :D). I work for Apple and my wife owns a dog grooming shop. I was a combat medic in the US Navy and served with a Marine Rifle Platoon in the Middle East back during the first Gulf War and Operation Desert Storm. However, being in the navy I did spend some time aboard ship during my stint and developed a love of the water and all kind of ships and boats from wooden viking vessels to the great battleships of WWII. I have owned a few smaller sailing boats in the 20 to 30 foot (that's 6 to 9 meters) range and a Hobie Cat at one time. I do consider myself a non-violent pirate :piratetongueor4: at this  point in my life. I finally grew up to be what I wanted to be.