Help with slack rigging

I have just completed all of the standing rigging on my Corel Mystique and started the running rigging. I made sure all the standing rigging was tawt. but this morning I noticed that almost all of the rigging I had done was really slack and I have absolutely no idea why... 

ANY advice or suggestions on how to fix this problem would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks, 

Trevor

The rigging cord you used was probably Cotton. Moisture will make it sag. Did it rain near you recently? Also Cotton will relax/loosen after rigging so It needs to be rigged fairly tight.

Another culprit could be that some of your siezings got loose.

Edited by BenD

Hi, Trevor.

First piece of advice is to give your topic a title that accurately represents its content. "SOS!!" is a teaser title that many of our members will simply skip over -- which probably isn't what you want. I have fixed your title for you.

I'm not an expert on rigging, but I can bet that our more knowledgeable members will want to know at least three things:

1. What kind of material is your rigging line made of (e.g. linen or polyester)?
  2. Did you pre-stretch it?
  3. Do you live and/or work in a humid environment?

I'm sure someone will be along shortly who can give you some concrete suggestions.

Cheers!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix

Hi Trevor,

I just saw your model on your other topic regarding the Misticque. Again, a beautiful looking model!

Pretty well all of the standing rigging is set up with deadeyes or some kind of tackle.

I find that it's often best to set up the tackles, but to not secure them until later in the build, to give the rigging line time to stretch, as Chris mentioned – to relax, as it were. Sounds like it's done just that, and it may be necessary to re-rig those tackles.