Height correction and level setting using a scribing block as a cheap height gauge

At this time I am fairly new to both wooden ship building and MSW. As such this is possibly a risky post as I might be either preaching to the converted or just plain wrong.

Although having completed just three builds, I have no doubt that the journey becomes akin to “wood engineering”. I have two 1/48 scale builds on the go and am committed to trying to work within +/- 0.5mm which equals about an inch in real world. I’d be interested if anyone can quote records with regard to accuracy of the day in the early 19th century.

Enough of the post introduction and on the the meat of the subject;

I have not seen much use so far for this tool on MSW but I feel it is under utilised. I see lots of spirit levels but sometimes think the user may not be getting the results they believe they are.

5C8E3DEC-0178-4D15-AF57-A838368A4F93.thumb.jpeg.6895aad3d93bbb5bef934f8e26cb3fa6.jpeg

My two current builds have been set up on build boards made from spare kitchen cabinet panels. They are very flat and as spare, also very cheap. The top surface of the build board then becomes the datum. You don’t need to worry if your fixed work surface/table isn’t flat or level, just work from your build board datum. I think with a little experience it is easy to work within 0.2mm or 0.008”.

356FB863-9E04-43DD-8A0C-7D308F77070B.thumb.jpeg.b7260c9f4d55dbf41a655f0de4dd1c5f.jpeg

The tool has different names depending who tells or sells it. To me it was a scribing block used for marking out but it could be a simple height gauge or comparator. You could attach a dial indicator (known as a clock) or just a simple scribe as I have.

Above it is being used to adjust the heights of the bulwarks. In this instance I am not setting a known height, just matching the height of starboard and port.