Polaris by Bill Saindon - OcCre - 1:50 - first build

This is my first build of a model ship. Unfortunately I don’t have any photos of the start of my build   I have been taking photos from glueing the deck forward. Have to say I’ve really enjoyed every minute that I spend on my model. 
My false keel was also bent seems to be a common problem. I was able to straighten it with a light coating of water and heavy plates on top. I let it dry for several days. Seems to work. 

I’m really trying to follow the instructions for my own sake but I did make some minor changes to the decking. Instead of using the long strips in the instructions I cut the planks to 6cm. Very pleased with the results.  At this time I’ve also finished the first planking and installed the bulwarks    Probably shouldn’t have but I jumped ahead and built the cabin and hatch    I’ll post more pictures as I finish stages  Thanks for the warm welcome  IMG_0076.thumb.jpeg.d0b8bbd17eddf15a12c2af24d0d747f4.jpegIMG_0063.thumb.jpeg.ab24b433879fb4b532f11f847424a703.jpeg

Your first layer of planking on the hull looks fantastic.   I am very impressed for your first ship. 

Cutting the deck planks is a good decision.  Looks really good.  

Completed Build:   HMS Beagle - Occre

Current Build:         Frigate Diana - Occre  https://modelshipworld.com/topic/33530-frigate-diana-by-rossr-occre-185/

On the Shelf:           Santisima Trinidad Cross Section - Occre, NRG Half Hull, the US Brig Syren - Model Shipways and USF Essex - Model Shipways.