Newbie here- Flattening the planks?

Hello!!!

So I am having a Blast planking the Occre model Polaris, so far it’s really not complicated and I’m having fun and chipping along quickly!

I just have one concern- that my planks are not laying flat against the keel? I have 0 clue how to make that happen. I don’t glue my planks down for this build because, having no idea what I’m doing, I can at least take parts off to Re-hammer and fix. But yeah- my planks are crooked and poking out. 

DC8DE737-EC3C-49F0-A0A0-52830C58BA62.thumb.jpeg.449593fd130e1b0d12a34fd1db7da842.jpeg

I’m sure after sanding and all that, it’ll be fine, but I would like to know how YOU keep the keel pieces flat for my future hulls. The instructions aren’t helping me figure this one out on where things went wrong. 

Did I not sand the ribs or supports enough? Does it require strong glue and clamps and bam easy fix?

Thank you SO much, you’re saving the Terror from future hell 🫣😂

Hi Chickpeas,

Welcome to the forums. There is a ton of help here and you can google YouTube videos and find practicums and lessons that ago through planking in detail. I am not familiar with your particular model but when I started my Mayflower some two years ago, frustration let to me ripping everything off, finding more resources, and trying again a year later. I got ‘er done! I had to learn patience, how to bend wood in two directions, and more but it is all out there. From the bit that I see on yours, you are going to pre-bend the planks so that they sit without forcing them and you will likely need “stealer” planks to fill in the gaps.

Definitely check out other build logs to see what others do.

Best of luck,

Dave

LCdr Dave

Current Build: Mayflower - Billing Boats