Bending your planking - moved by moderator

Hello, I am new to this forum but I've been building tall ships for quite a few years now. I'm presently constructing the Wasa.

One of the things I've spent considerable time thinking about and experimenting with is on the best way to bend planking.Having watched a master restore my cedar strip canoe I realized the answer was with the use of a steam box. Of course this idea had to be miniaturized. I have come up with a combination of a Steam box and wood jigs that the wet planks are clamped into in order to get the specific curves. This is very time efficient and accurate. If your interested in details then let me know.

I'm only on my second model and am using several methods of bending planks. I've culled most of the ideas from this website, but have invented a few myself. I definitely soak all planks before trying to shape them. Fifteen to twenty minutes for the hardwood I'm using in a mixture of water and about 15% ammonia. Then I use a variety of methods. One is a jig I've built that matches the shape of the hull. That works for some planks. An other way is to pin the wet plank in place and let it dry. It takes on the shape to be used (almost). Another way is to use a heating iron with wet cloths to create the steam you mention. I use that with a curved form. I'd like to see you gadgets. How can I see them?

Rich

Some newcomers have found that gluing even damp planks to the hull can result in gaps appearing once it's dried fully so any type of jig to pre bend off the hull sounds like a good idea. Some folks edge bend as well though so I'd be keen to see if this can be done at the same time!

Hi Paul. Yes please, I would like to see how you bend your planks.  Welcome, and best wishes on your build, and I look forward to seeing some photo's of your Wasa.

Best wishes

Jimbob (Richard)

A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.