Artesania Latina HMS Surprise 1:48 DeAgostini/Model Space vs Artesania Latina HMS Surprise 1:48 Age of Sail????

Bill Hime

So I've been looking at the HMS Surprise 1:48 for my build this winter. I'm bewildered by the price difference of this model between DeAgostini/Model Space @ $1,399.99 and Age of Sail @ $699.99...

Is there something different between these two kits? I did see that the DeAgostini model is in collaboration with a maritime museum. This is literally double the cost. Can anybody shed light on this for me?

Warm Regards,

Bill 

Edited by Bill Hime

Passion is Patience...and I am a carpenter in any scale.

Current build;  Endurance - 1:70 scale, Occre

Current build;    H.M.S. Surprise - 1796, 1:48 A L

Bill,

Is the DeAgostini a partwork?  Sold in magazine issues?  If so, that's the big price difference.  I recall, and could be wrong, but those two are the same kit, just packaged differently.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever:           

CH-53 Sikorsky - 1:48 - Revell - Completed                                                   Licorne - 1755 from Hahn Plans (Scratch) Version 2.0 (Abandoned)         

Hey Mark,

It's on the site Model Space linked at the bottom of our Forums page. You can have it sent in stages monthly or pay for it out right. Monthly it's $100.00. Or you can pay one time $1,399.99.