Recomendations as to best casting resin to use for casting fittings

Ahoy Mates

Looking to cast some fittings in resin. What would be the best resin and rubber and mold release to get  started for casting parts?

The parts are some trim work around windows that I have to make ten of. I have a master completed,it's 1/8" x 1/4" x 1 1/4" overall size.

Thanks

Keith

Keith,

I am a big fan of making molds and parts from these molds so I do not want to discourage you in any way.   But, are all ten piece exactly the same?  Other than cannon, there are few things on a ship that are exact duplicates of another part.  Length, angle, siding, &c. change from piece to piece.   What trim parts are these?  Can you send a picture of the master?

In any case, any silicone RTV found in hobby shops, Micro Mark or other such suppliers will work.  You will also need mold release, casting resins and solvents to clean the mold release from the parts, and uncoated disposable cups.  By the time you are done you will have at least $40 or $50 invested and spend more time than if you made them all  of  wood.   

If you do go ahead and make the molds, it will be good experience, and hopefully an enjoyable one for you. 

Allan

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU

Hi Allan

After I posted the question,I looked up what it would take now in cost and started to carve the parts now. They are the same. They are the side window eyebrows for the cabin windows on the Panart's 1/47 Royal Caroline. I have attached a photo here of what the master. It sits on top of the drawing in the AOTS's book.

I ahve made lots of masters for 1/35 tanks and conversions in the past. It's been a long time since I looked at the prices for all that is needed to resin cast. If I was looking at a lot more than 6 parts,I would do casting.