My Opa Left me a Wasa model by billings to finish need help

captainscott91

Hello everyone,

I am new to model ship building. My Opa or as some would say Grandpa left me his Wasa ship model kit by Billings.The hull and top deck are complete except for wood grids and some of the minor details like fittings. the mast has not been installed and not with the kit parts. I will add pictures of the ship and the parts that he had with it. my ultimate goal is to complete it or just add the sails and fittings and skip painting it. I would love all the advice and help I can get. I want to finish it to show him on face time what it looks like since he is now in a retirement home and doesn't have the eye site to be able to finish it.

pictures will be added soon.

Thank you everyone, 

Welcome, Scott.

Completing a model like the Wasa, even if it is only the rigging left to do, will be a challenge for a beginner.  To begin with, there is quite a bit of archaic language to get a handle on, followed by acquiring a new skill set specific to rigging period ship models.  I suggest starting off with reading up on the subject.  A good book aimed at beginners is Ship Modeling Simplified by Frank Mastini.  It won't tell you how to rig a Wasa, but it will give you an idea of what you are getting into.  Also, check out some of the Wasa build logs here at MSW.  They won't all be Billing Boats kits, but the rigging will be similar.  You might also want to think about building your own, simpler model to start off with - something you can cut your teeth on without making your beginner mistakes on your opa's model.  Lots to think about.

Cheers!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

Hello. I am posting here to wish you good luck in this noble effort, and to give you a link (in my signature) to my Vasa build hoping you can find something useful in it.

:sign: