HMS Victory by MTP001 - Caldercraft - Scale 1:75 - First wooden ship build by Mark

A bold project - I have been building scratch built RC aircraft from the age of 17 and am now 59. I have little or no experience building model ships but having been in the Royal Navy and lived near Portsmouth, UK then HMS Victory was an obvious choice. I will log all my efforts and hopefully other novices will benefit from my expected mistakes. I used to live in Bournemouth and had a great workshop with just about every tool imaginable collected over the years. I now live in New York and space is at a premium! I have a limited workspace and literally no tools so I had to buy everything and make my workspace as compact as possible. Not ideal but hey I dont have a choice if I want to build this ship model, so I'm gonna have to be efficient and tidy :) - I welcome any comments good or bad.

Hi Mark,

Without doubt a bold choice for your first model ship! Having said that I should own up and admit that it so happens that it is my own 'second' build and as a relative novice I can appreciate where you're coming from. You're in for a great journey and joining this forum is probably the best thing you could have done to help you on your way, There are some stunning build logs here and I could not have made the progress I have without the sage advice of other members. Many build logs are now my first port of call when tackling new and challenging stages. Of the builds currently under way I recommend the work of 'Bertu' as a good starting point but there are also many others - using the search function to find these builds is time well spent. As for helping other novices to benefit from your expected mistakes, take look at my log - I made some real howlers!

Looking forward to seeing your work.

Cheers,

Graham

• 4 weeks later...