So this is my first time wanting to build a boat of any size, my main goal is to build a Carrack type ship like in the anime One Piece (there main ship Thousand Sunnys) but talking with some other people that have said that I’ve basically chosen one of the hardest ships to do for a first timer. So if there are anybody out there that can point me in the direction of a simple but fun to do ship that will be great, something that can help me level up (as it were) to get to the level of a Carrack type ship.

thanks in advance 😁

67E9AE63-F87E-4A47-9D89-248C2B1F4BDA.jpeg

6D51AFE3-B7BE-45D5-A87A-365E80686F47.jpeg

This is an interesting challenge you have set before yourself. Your anime carrack obviously has a lot of fanciful details that would not be found on a real carrack, so building a model from any of the existing carrack kits would be both difficult for a beginner and perhaps not much of an aid toward achieving your ultimate goal. A ship like this will need to be a scratch-build, so perhaps you should start with some thought about what type of medium do you think you'd be most comfortable working with, i.e. wood, card stock, or plastic. You could then start with some simple kits in that medium to gain basic modeling skills which you could later apply to your scratch build. Other than your anime ship, what kinds of boats/ships do you think you might be interested in building?

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane