Offset for Hull Thickness

I have had requests to make patterns for laser cutting frames for a plank on bulkhead 1:192 battleship hull.  That comes out to about 4' 8" long. I am not experienced in building such ships. What I am wondering is how much of an offset should there be on the frames the hull thickness. I bought a NIP book on building a model of the Thunderer. Yet that topic is completely overlooked in the book. When I raise this issue, people seem to think I am just being obstructive.  I know if, I just do it, and the offset is 1/8" off from how it has to be planked, the end product will be a noticeable scale 4' off and I will get @#$@#.

I would like to be able to say:

1. Here is the pattern. Cut the frame out.

2. Go to {this store} and buy strips in "{this thickness]" {and maybe this thickness}
3. After assembling the frames put down {one layer of this thickness} {? A second layer of this thickness} 

Therefore, I ask of those who might have experience, how much of an offset should there be?

How many layers and of what thickness of wood should go over the hull?

Where can such material be purchased?

I can even add, what thickness plywood should be used to make the frames?

I believe as designer, you have the right and obligation to specify such parameters on the parts.  And they should be noted in the instructions.    As for how many layers?  That's your choice though convention seems to be 1 or 2 layers.  Usually the first layer is a non-premium wood like basswod.  The second layer is something nicer.  It does depend on your model era (wood or steel).

As for materials... look on front page of MSW for starters.  There's  a long list of suppliers of many things.   Also, there's various lumber companies that sell various woods.

As to your last question... yes, definitely.  I would consider a set plans incomplete without this info.