HMS Victory by Malcolm Brown - Heller - 1/100 - PLASTIC

While I’m new to MSW I am not new to model ship building. In my earlier life, I built two period sailing ships: Heller 1/200 L'indomptable and the Revell 1/96 Elizabethan Man ‘O War. Sadly, these did not survive the decades since I built them. My current project is the Heller 1/100 HMS Victory. While I say ‘current’ my story is similar to that of others in this forum. I bought my kit around about 1984 but a busy career and family life meant the project became an on-again off-again proposition. Clearly, more off than on. I am now retired and motivated to push this project to completion. The hull of my model is mostly complete but the rigging is a whole other challenge and I will need help. And lots of it. Ian Grant, who completed a fabulous rendition of this model has already been immensely helpful to me. A few pictures follow:

. 7DF17759-7DEF-41C7-9563-C2DBBA551D29.thumb.jpeg.6ea7814508dc322d4670de8c3f546f41.jpeg

I’m told this is a 1st generation kit, C1979. I believe Heller is now into its 3rd iteration. Hard to believe but in 1984 this kit was $CDN180!

910964EA-C692-480B-A095-AA7AD6C97EE2.thumb.jpeg.cccff178da961d28b09525676337fc97.jpeg

I am re-doing the bowsprit standing and running rigging since I originally rigged it per the kit instructions. That is simply no longer acceptable 😊

11E4061E-8C24-4595-A694-BB0D96C771A1.thumb.jpeg.f67ab79f819b18f20de5be92006084f8.jpeg

I’m glad I completed most of the finicky painting - aft gingerbreads, balusters, coats of arms, etc. (quoting Billy Joel) “when I wore a younger man’s clothes” 😉 Good news is, while my eyesight isn’t as sharp as it once was, my hand is still pretty steady.

328F65A4-568E-48BA-97AA-CDF9B2C2450D.thumb.jpeg.1598193e8fa54ca746bffa10c6c4ecfb.jpeg

I built this temporary enclosure to protect the model while also helping to keep it dust free. It still managed to collect dust!