wheels-metal-rolling-machine/eels metal rolling machine

I don´t know what kind of machine you are talking about, during my apprenticeship as a car mechanic I worked with something like that... we used those to reproduce fenders or other body parts for the cars when they needed repair after crashes.

17729597-image-1.webp.f0ea91e813aaef6917bf0473552ab8a7.webp

I´m pretty sure you get benchtop models of those for around USD 250.00 / GBP 200.00. Don´t know how good those are, the machine we used was an industrial machine, therefore it worked very well but requieres some experience and training. It looks easy but to archive what you want it requires some practise and experience. I had three years time during my apprenticeship to learn it under supervision of some trainers.

Micha

"The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever." Jacques - Yves Cousteau.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Current Build:

"Roar Ege" by Billing Boats - 1:25

On Hold:

n/a

Finished:

n/a

Posted (edited)

Thats what I'd think of as an English Wheel. As you say often as an automotive tool for panel shaping. A friend did his apprenticeship at Aston Martin and was a wizard with one of these. I tried. I was not.

If you are thinking of one to shape sheets for a model I'd imagine a former of the hull in question and an assortment of hammers would work better with less practice.

Edited by BrochBoating

Simon.

Current build HM Cutter Trial - Vanguard Models

Previous: Saucy Jack - Vanguard Models Polaris - OcCre

In the stash:

HMS Speedy v2023 - Vanguard Models

Nisha - Vanguard Models

HM Gun Brig Adder - Vanguard Models

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, BrochBoating said:

Thats what I'd think of as an English Wheel. As you say often as an automotive tool for panel shaping. A friend did his apprenticeship at Aston Martin and was a wizard with one of these. I tried. I was not.