No Ratlines on Revenue Cutter Dallas?

I am building the Revenue Cutter Dallas from 1815. The rigging plans show no ratlines. This is simpler for me since this is my first attempt at rigging but is it accurate? How would the crew have tied up the sails other than by climbing up to the yards? Would they have just used a one of the ropes? The Cutter 'Alert' plans from around the same time also have no ratlines. The American schooner in Petersson's 'Rigging Period Fore-and-Aft Craft' does have ratlines but that is for a larger ship.

So what do people think?

Thanks,

Richard.

p.s. I assume the yard would have had foot ropes?

Edited by RichardG

Richard

Current Build: Early 19th Century US Revenue Cutter (Artesania Latina "Dallas" - messed about)

Completed Build: Yakatabune - Japanese - Woody Joe mini

Member: Nautical Research Guild & Midwest Model Shipwrights

Yep - those 2 were much larger and different design. I think Dallas (1815) was one of the Doughty 51ton cutters. I'm home at last so going through some of my books for info. I recall a similar thread here on MSW last year.

Wayne

Neither should a ship rely on one small anchor, nor should life rest on a single hope.
Epictetus

Okay, here is what I have come up with.  First, I was wrong on the plans for the ship - The Revenue cutter Dallas was built by A & N Brown of New York and was completed in 1816. She was one of the several cutters built to replace vessels the service had lost during the War of 1812 and was one of two vessels of the "Surprise" class, the other being the Revenue cutter Surprise, also built by A & N Brown.