HMS Racehorse by medic - Sergal Mantua - 1:47

Hello all,

So I'm new to the hobby having commenced approximately two weeks ago, and this is my first new post of my very first kit. So strap yourself in for the thrills and excitement that is HMS Racehorse by Medic.

I've attached the bulkheads to the keel and as the manufacturers plans suggest the fairing is only required on the first and second bulkhead. I was of the belief that nearly all the bulkheads required some level of fairing. Has anyone else out there done this kit and what was their experience. :D

Cheers

Medic

post-16632-0-47117600-1416635302_thumb.jpg

post-16632-0-42380700-1416635323_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Evening all,

So before I begin to commence my planking has anyone got any tips and or tricks that I should be aware of in terms of ensuring I have a nice clean line to the ends of my planks especially where they terminate along the bow. Or is placement not so important and I should rely on good old fashion sanding.

Cheers

Medic :)

post-16632-0-44787000-1417687769_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

Hey all,

So while I'm waiting for Santa to bring me a timber vice and therefore make the process of tapering planks easier (or so the story goes) I thought I would work on some of the deck furnishings/fixtures which was actually quite fun. I even made some extra parapet bitts out of off cuts so I can take the pick of the litter when the time comes. Now I think I'll turn my attention to the anchors.

Cheers

post-16632-0-38777800-1418535974_thumb.jpg

post-16632-0-65516300-1418536014_thumb.jpg

Thanks GuntherMT,

So here is an image of the one I've ordered. It may be known by another name however this is what the website I got it from called it. Essentially it's an elongated vice with aluminium jaws which will take longer lengths of timber. You can position the planks on an angle and shave until you have the desired angle...........or there abouts.  I got mine from the modellers Shipyard

Cheers