Dharma66

Hello from Manchester, UK

Hi,

I've been lurking a while, and reading lots of information on this site.

I'm brand new to wooden ship modelling, so new in fact, that I haven't yet started! I've done some plastic modelling over the years, mostly aircraft, but wooden ships have been percolating at the back of my mind for as long as I can remember. I've decided now is the time to try.

I think it will be a little while yet before I get so far as purchasing a kit. I have probably 90% of the tools required by, virtue of previous modelling, and having worked a little in wood for other purposes, such as building electric guitars (purely for fun). But what I am lacking is space. My "workshop" is currently more akin to Steptoe's yard than a useful area to work in. So, I need to do some rearranging, chucking out, and negotiating with the missus in order to reclaim my space.

This will, though, allow me to spend more time reading the couple of books I have, these fora, and the excellent articles at NRG.

And it will also give me a little more time to make what seems now to be a huge decision, but ultimately is probably not really that huge...which kit to build first? There *may* be another Lady Nelson on the way...

Posted (edited)

Hello Dharma. Is it City or United?

Guitar building seems to be a popular route into ship modelling, you should check out Julie Mo's J Class Endeavour Build. If you try a kit I think its well worth finding a relatively simple one, preferably plank on frame. The reward of rapid progress will spur you on to attempting something more demanding later on.

Good luck,

Edited by KeithAug
aviaamator likes this

Hello Dharma66 and welcome aboard,

Can you please tell us your name?

Whatever you decide for your first build, make sure it has your interest and that you really want to build it.

That way you'll be more likely to get through the trials and errors.