The Lindworm by Keith Simmons - scale unknown - a fluid design

Hi all, this is my first attempt at mapping out a hull design.With no particular ship in mind I started out by making a grid on a piece of cardboard and drew a basic deck outline.With that done I cut out some cardboard ribs to form the middle section,

then using spacer blocks to stand the ribs up I adjusted the shape of the hull by eye with sandpaper and a utility knife. At this point it looked like I was going to end up with some sort of cabin cruiser.

Looking around the shop I found some old scrap squares of 1/2" plywood to use and started jigsawing out some ribs.After getting what I thought was the bulk of the middle section cut out I assembled them with 1 1/4" spacers. I then clamped the whole section in my small work table and proceeded to shape the frame with an orbital sander. Here is where my mind starts to race..lol

post-24231-0-40498900-1458457449_thumb.jpg

post-24231-0-41729600-1458457488_thumb.jpg

post-24231-0-90512800-1458457515_thumb.jpg

Edited by Keith Simmons

Current build:

A Battleship

Past builds:

The Unicorn - The Lindworm - Malahini -  Shinobi Maru  -  The MaryJane - The Weeligstraal

Once I had a basic shape I decided to run some African Mahogany planking so I could figure out how to fill in the bow and stern with solid blocks.I then added a Mahogany keel strip to help me eyeball the bow rise. Not sure what happened but I saw something and went off in a whole other direction. By adding Mahogany bow and stern sections I elongated the hull by several inches and that is when it became a dragon ship. The middle section looked like a belly of a beast and changed my plan, so I added blocks at the keel and transom lines to allow for diagonal planking. From here on anything is possible as the ideas are racing around in my head... :)

post-24231-0-72758200-1458458776_thumb.jpg

post-24231-0-97585400-1458458799_thumb.jpg

post-24231-0-28313900-1458458828_thumb.jpg