HMS Triton by Stevo79 - 1/48 - POF 28-gun frigate by Steve

Hi Everyone,  

Yes another new chap here to the forum.  I have been lurking in the shadows for sometime reading. reading and researching as I am new to scratch building wooden ship models.  I am however an avid RC aircraft modeler and build and fly only scale gliders from 1/4 scale up.  The largest scratch built glider I have has a wingspan of 7.5m so no small foamies here.

Whilst this build goes on I also purchased the Hayling Hoy book from sea-watch and will be building this during the Triton build.  A little test bed really.  I hope to document this Triton build to a high level to ensure I have a beautiful replica once completed and I am certain I will have plenty of questions along the way so the more detail provided the easier it will be to gain assistance.

There isn't a whole lot to show just yet as I have only printed out a very small number of the large format drawings and have a ton to go until I finish printing them all.  I was thinking about not printing everything at once to save up a little space but I think it will be a lot easier to print them all out then check off each sheet with the master list to ensure I don't miss anything.  That's really all there is for now, I needed to get the build log started as it will give me the little nudge along to get things moving along nicely.

I would like to thank all the guys and gals out there that contributed to these drawings, they are very thorough and would have taken hundreds of man hours to put together so thank you all, especially at only 5 bucks, brilliant.  Anyway I better try to get some sleep its 3am here.

Chow for now.

Steve

Welcome to the Triton Shipyards and a lot of fun with the build.

Regards Christian

Current build: HM Cutter Alert, 1777; HM Sloop Fly, 1776 - 1/36

On the drawing board: English Ship Sloops Fly, 1776, Comet, 1783 and Aetna, 1776; Naval Cutter Alert, 1777

Paused: HMS Triton, 1771 - 1/48