Willie L Bennett by Griphos - Model Shipways - Scale 1:32 - Skipjack

Hello all. 

Long time lurker who's not posted much until recently.  I've built a few model boats/ships.  I got started modeling in HO.  Had one particularly lovely 1910's NH&NYRR layout many years ago.  That's what got me scratchbuilding scale bits of the world.  I've built a few metal car kits (the old Hubley kits), and a few aircraft (I'm also a pilot and owned a 1946 Aeronca Chief until some years ago).  But I've always loved boats as well, and have owned a fair few of those also (almost all sailboats).  I just think the alchemy of function and beautiful line makes for some of the most aesthetically pleasing forms ever made by men.  

I've built exclusively from kits so far.  And I prefer working boats over naval ships, although my very first ship model was a Halifax brig.

Anyway, I'm in the middle of building the Willie Bennett.  I've posted about it asking for help with colors in particular; but I thought I'd go ahead and post a build log.  Not that I think much in it will be new or that impressive.  But I've learned a lot from reading other logs over the years, and it only seemed fair to participate.  If I think of any particular problem I worked through that might be generally illuminating, I'll be sure to mention it.  But, like I said, I wouldn't get my hopes up.  🙂

I'll take a few days to put together a few posts that will bring the log up to date.  Not much to belabor with the early parts of the build, since they've been done so often.  I'm finishing the houses and hatches at the moment, and about to start on the other deck furniture.  I'm still working, so progress is not rapid.  But I manage to get a little work done on things most days.  

To start: Building board, keel (with rabbet).   

IMG_1225.JPG

Planking goes fast when the planks are this wide!

IMG_1267.JPG

Transom. 

IMG_1271.JPG

Bottom planked and shaping the front blocks.

IMG_1283.JPG