Greetings from Pennsylvania

Goop Doopis

Hello Goop doopis, 

I am fairly new to wooden model boats, but by what I've learned so far some of the manufacturers especially from Europe don't supply really good instructions, so leaving the new modeler slightly confused and frustrated. Apparently Model Shipways provide good quality kits with understandable instructions. As to how historically accurate they are, you should wait for a member with more experience to tell you. 

Mike

I suggest you look at Lauck  Street Shipyard.  The owner, Bob, provides instructional courses for building for beginners to experts.  If you buy his course, you get incredibly detailed instructions for whichever of his ships you choose, and he has a lot.  Note that you have to buy your own kit, but $100 for one of his beginners courses is an investment you won't regret.

I have been a customer for many years, and no, I'm not related, don't  work for him, and have never met him.  He runs a good business and provides great service.  If nothing else go to his site (Google it) and look around.  You willl be amazed.

Model Shipways is a good starting point.  They will replace any part for any reason, your fault or theirs.

The Model Shipways Sultana was my first real ship model. I really enjoyed building it. 

I’ve heard really good things about Bluejacket too, but I’ve never built any of their kits.  

The gentleman who runs it, his username is Mr. Bluejacket (real name Nic), is on this forum.

Building: 1:64 HMS Revenge (Victory Models plans)

1:64 Cat Esther (17th Century Dutch Merchant Ships)

On the building slip: 1:72 French Ironclad Magenta (original shipyard plans)

On hold: 1:98 Mantua HMS Victory (kit bash), 1:96 Shipyard HMS Mercury

Favorite finished builds:  1:60 Sampang Good Fortune (Amati plans), 1:200 Orel Ironclad Solferino, 1:72 Schooner Hannah (Hahn plans), 1:72 Privateer Prince de Neufchatel (Chapelle plans), Model Shipways Sultana, Heller La Reale, Encore USS Olympia