Hi folks,

I'm a relative newbie planking up Corel Victory. When it comes to marking out the gun ports should I reference each one by measurements from the drawings or can I do a tracing and lay it alongside?

Thank you in anticipation.

Edited by Sheerline
Thank yous

Printing a copy off of the plans and using the copy as a template is an option that I've found works for me. An inexpensive home printer  with scanning capabilities does the trick as transferring measurements always led to inaccuracies  for me.

Built & De-Commissioned: HMS Endeavour (Corel), HMS Unicorn (Corel),

Abandoned: HMS Bounty (AL)

Completed : Wappen Von Hamburg (Corel), Le Renommee (Euromodel)... on hold

Current WIP: Berlin by Corel

On Shelf:  HMS Bounty (Billings),

This may be a more technically difficult approach for a newbie, but I’ve found it easier to add scratch built gun port framing according to where they should be, and then plank around that.   Otherwise it gets finicky to drill/file and cutout holes in a nicely planked hull.   

Edited by Justin P.

2 hours ago, Justin P. said:

This may be a more technically difficult approach for a newbie, but I’ve found it easier to add scratch built gun port framing according to where they should be, and then plank around that.   Otherwise it gets finicky to drill/file and cutout holes in a nicely planked hull.   

From his description in the original post I would gather that his planking has already been completed and the query is over how to establish a reference for the gun port openings.

The bottom sill of gun ports should be the same height above the deck for guns of a given type. For lower decks that aren't visible on the model this isn't critical. The ports should line up according th 0 the sheer and camber of the deck (curvature lengthwise and side to side).