Hello from Brooklyn!

Hello to everyone. I am a new hobbyist here, already looking for help. I found some great information on this site that led me to purchase a Polaris kit from OcCe, which I like because it has video tutorials for me to follow. I have some questions about materials I need that were not in the box. 

1) White or carpenters glue: I got Elmers wood glue which also says "carpenters" on it. 

2) Quick-drying glue: I got Krazy Glue. 

3) Contact of cobblers glue: I got "contact cement." 

4) Sandpaper: This was confusing because one place in the instructions says to use fine grain and another says to use medium grain. I bought black sandpaper with the number 600 on the back, which feels finer then the piece of sandpaper included in the box. 

Are my materials ok or should I replace something? Thank you for your time. I hope you are all healthy and well in these difficult times. 

Dan

1.jpg

Welcome aboard Dan.

There are over 30K members here and probably as many opinions based on each one's personal experience.  No wrong choice if it works for you, but each choice has limitations and consequences. 

My own take.    Any CA glue such as Krazy glue has very limited used in wood working and there are better formulas to use so not needed. 

Carpenter's glue (yellow aliphatic such as Elmers and Titebond) is all around the best for wood.  It is strong and cures relatively quickly.  I never thought that speed should  be a factor in a hobby, but that's just me.  I am often looking for instant gratification, or so my dear wife keeps telling me, but not in  all things, one being model building.  Downside, it is not water proof.  Upside, if there is a mistake, water or Ispropyl alcohol will loosen a part so can be fixed.

Contact cement,  never used it, but epoxy is a good thing to have handy when gluing/attaching metal and wood.  While it takes time to cure, it is super strong.