HMS Terror by DaJH - OcCre - 1:75

It was suggested to me when I joined earlier this month that I should start a build log so here goes. :) This is my first wooden model but I have some prior experience with plastic models. So far I have completed the first layer of planking of the ship which after much sanding and application of wood filler seems to be shaping up nicely. The next stage is the second layer of planking.

I have probably made many mistakes already but I am learning as I go.

IMG_20200429_165620.jpg

IMG_20200430_204724.jpg

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

Your hull looks nice and smooth so far. I used contact glue for the second layer, and it was a messy process. I agree with you that white glue is better. It probably makes a neater job because there's more time to set the planking perfectly, and it dries clear and can be sanded. Yours looks great so far.

The second layer of planking almost finished, a few more finishing touches and sanding. I have learnt a lot from this planking experience for my next model! I am thinking of the Occre Golden Hind or Beagle next.

The next stage is to install the rubbing strakes, but I have a question for those building this model. The instruction states they should be installed 15mm from the top of the bulwarks but that doesn't seem right, maybe a little bit more? Also should the rubbing strake be 15mm (or more) all along or turn upwards at the bow? Thanks

image.jpg

You are correct. They should be 20mm below the top of the bulwark. Also, they do not turn upward at the bow. They are parallel to the top of the bulwark all around. 

Here is the measurement from the real ship: you can see it's exactly five feet, which corresponds to 20mm in 1:75 scale.

195F711D-EC5F-48D2-9FBA-5DB43642DA3B.jpeg

B6D8E5A8-5E8C-48F4-B23D-EF51F9A9E420.jpeg

22 hours ago, Keith S said: