Permission to board from the Finger Lakes

Greetings from the Finger Lakes region of New York State (about 5 or 6 hours NW of New York City). I've decided to actually participate in this community instead of just skulking behind piles of old fishing nets and empty rum barrels. 

When COVID locked me in the hold with nothing to do, I tried to find a hobby that would interest me, and came across this forum and the many amazing models that you all have built. I'm a carpenter and woodworker, and built model cars as a kid, so I decided to try model ships. I bought the Artesania Swift pilot boat and finished building it a week or so ago. Even before the planking was finished, I was hooked. 

I planned to build the brig Supply next, but decided to take a smaller bite by building the Lady Nelson. This time I'm going to keep a build log, and try to give back by passing along my trials, tribulations, and occasional successes. I can't tell you how much I appreciate all the other build logs and the experience and wisdom shared therein. I hope to contribute in some small way. 

Wish me luck as I cast off!

Mike

Mike

currently SE of Disorder

Current Build: HM Cutter Lady Nelson - Amati

Previous Build: Swift 1805 - Artesania Latina

A most warm welcome Mike.   Yes, do please keep a log on your upcoming project.   Before purchasing any kit, be sure to browse the build log sections here at MSW regarding kits.  Some are excellent in detail and instructions including some designed by members at MSW who have actually built a lot of models so know what is needed.  Others look glorious on the box cover, but when looking at the  models themselves they leave a lot to be desired in actually using a good wood species for modeling, accurately scaled parts, rigging line quality and realism, easy follow instructions and more.      

Looking forward to seeing your work!!

Allan

Edited by allanyed