Lady Nelson sails?

Dave_E

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to wooden ship building. Always wanted to, just never did. I built plenty of plastic tall ship kits in my youth where you could include the "plastic" sails or build it with bare yards. In the real world, the only time you'd see a tall ship with naked arms is when all the canvas would be removed for repair or ship layup or something like that, no?

Anyway... has anyone added sails to these kits that come with naked spars and yards?

Did I get the terminology correct?

Dave

Dave

Current builds: Rattlesnake

Completed builds: Lady Nelson

On the shelf: NRG Half Hull Project, Various metal, plastic and paper models

Some folks like to add sails, some don't.  If you look at contemporary ship models, sails are a rarity.  If you decide  you must have sails, research the subject here at MSW thoroughly as there has been a lot of discussion on materials.  Sail material in kits generally is pretty much useless as it is out of scale.  The consensus here is that no woven cloth exists that is to scale for 1:48 or smaller. Silk span and other nonwoven materials is a great substitution.  There are lot of otherwise fantastic models to be found here, both scratch and kit, and many have been utterly ruined with out-of-scale sails.  In addition to the many discussions here at MSW, consider buying the booklet on sail making from Seawatch Books by David Antscherl.  https://www.seawatchbooks.com/ItemDisplay.php?sku=115003 

Good luck.

Allan

PLEASE take 30 SECONDS and sign up for the epic Nelson/Trafalgar project if you would like to see it made into a TV series.   Click on http://trafalgar.tv   There is no cost other than the 30 seconds of your time.  THANK YOU