Would like help identifying clamp and suggestions where I might buy some

Go to solution Solved by Dziadeczek,

Hello all,

I wonder if anyone can tell me where I might find clamps like that below (throat = 1 1/4”).  I have been able to locate them only on Japanese and Finnish sites through an image search (I am new to modeling so it’s likely I’ve missed some specialized sites where these are to be found).  The plan is to use them to secure planking during glue ups.  Thanks, Chris

D7B30B77-F084-45BE-BA67-E25AF0F6CB70.jpeg

• Solution

I once made a handful of such mini C clamps from a length of aluminium U channel, slicing it on my Preac saw into narrow sections, drilling holes and thread tapping them to match my screws. Mine have 1/2 inch throat size, but perhaps you could also find your size in a hardware store.

These are not heavy duty, plenty of power to hold planks, though.

mini c clamps.jpg

Edited by Dziadeczek

It is not an ideal shape for me, but I tried another armchair experiment.

I checked McMaster-Carr and they have Aluminum "U" bar stock with dimensions that are close.  A 2 foot bar is <$50.  

a box of 1/8"-1/4" ( or what works) long enough thumb screws

A pilot drill bit and a tap 

How many can be had  depends on how wide are the slices  but if the whole bar is done, I am betting that the cost per unit would be less than ready made.

Edited by Jaager

NRG member 45 years

Current:  

HMS Centurion 1732 - 60-gun 4th rate - Navall Timber framing

HMS Beagle 1831 refiit  10-gun brig with a small mizzen - Navall (ish) Timber framing

The U.S. Ex. Ex. 1838-1842
Flying Fish 1838  pilot schooner -  framed - ready for stern timbers
Porpose II  1836  brigantine/brig - framed - ready for hawse and stern timbers
Vincennes  1825  Sloop-of-War  -  timbers assembled, need shaping
Peacock  1828  Sloop-of -War  -  timbers ready for assembly
Sea Gull  1838  pilot schooner -  timbers ready for assembly
Relief  1835  ship - timbers ready for assembly

Other