HMS Victory by Demostenes - Airfix - 1/180 - PLASTIC

Hello,

I ve recently started with this kit. It is my first scalemodel sail ship (actually second model after more than 26 years pause) , so I am not sure what is reasonably possible in this scale (and what I will be able to do), but this is what is fun on such project. I have no ambitions to finish fast, just have fun by trying various approaches, inventing new ones, remaking things to achieve better results, etc...I have not much free time in my life (small daughter), so it will probably take lot of time. But it does not matter, goal is to have a fun and create something nice. 

Currently I started working on the hull and I am studying various resources (huge thanks to Shipman) including this forum (there are indeed some inspiring builds). I also bought veneer deck, some rigging accesories (https://www.hismodel.com/articles-category-38), some small resin parts (https://scalewarship.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=1303&search=victory&description=true) and photo-etch (https://scalewarship.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=1292 and https://www.britmodeller.com/forums/index.php?/topic/234932536-scalewarships-hms-victory-etch-set/). I am not sure I will use everything from these photo etches, for example hammocks looks unnatural (everything too straight), wooden gratings have mostly higher number of holes than real ship, so they dont look well, etc...Well, I will see, I have already some ideas. First I have to do some small POCs, what is feasible and what not. 

I always enjoy a Victory build, and there aren't so many at this scale.

Are you aware of Noel Hackney's little book on Victory, in the "Classic Ships and how to model them" series? His book is written for builders of your airfix 1/180 model and provides many many "upgrade" suggestions as well as complete rigging instructions. Well worth the price.

Meanwhile, I look forward to following you.

Can I make a suggestion?