Polaris by Paula - OcCre - 1:50

Hi All, greetings from Portugal. First time builder here. I’m newly semi-retired and recently moved from Austin, Texas to Portugal. I’m not a novice woodworker but no longer have the full workshop I had in Texas. 

I’ve had a lifelong love of wooden ships and am looking forward to this build. 

I decided on Polaris as a modestly priced, beginner level model and have been reading build logs and watching videos and working on understanding methods and techniques. My kit is due to arrive in a couple days and so I’m gathering tools and getting my workspace ready. 

I know Polaris is not based on a specific ship but in the interest of historical accuracy, I’m curious about what time frame and similar ships I might study as reference. It seems like the general idea is that she’s first half of 19th century, American design, based on a merchant type outfitted for polar exploration. Accurate so far? The actual USS Polaris was a “screw steamer” so clearly not the basis for this model. (Though reading through the Wikipedia article about her, she seems like she’d be a fascinating project!)

So…. On with my first build!

Hello Paula and a warm welcome to MSW from the UK. 

🌻

STAY SAFE

A model shipwright and an amateur historian are heads & tails of the same coin

current builds:

HMS Berwick 1775, 1/192 scratchbuild; a Slade 74 in the Navy Board style

Mediator sloop, 1/48 - an 18th century transport scratchbuild 

French longboat - CAF - 1/48, on hold

So….. my kit is scheduled to be delivered Thursday. In the meantime, much work getting tools, watching videos, and reading. Thank you all for the warm welcomes. I’m sure I’ll have many questions as I get going. 

cheers,

Paula 

So….. my kit is scheduled to be delivered Thursday. In the meantime, much work getting tools, watching videos, and reading. Thank you all for the warm welcomes. I’m sure I’ll have many questions as I get going. 

cheers,

Paula