Lady Isabella by Woodartist - Vanguard Models - 1/64 - 80 foot Zulu

As a newbie, I made a Newbie mistake, I was given a Model Shipways kit for the USS Constitution. Despite a lot of advice to the contrary I started in. I got quite a ways before I realized I had made enough mistakes that impacted the ability to finish it successfully. I trashed it, and started a scratch build, I have worked on it for two months and so far all is well, in large part due to the build logs of Der Alta Rentner, MTBediz, and JSGerner,  however, I need a break from the Conny. So I looked for another boat to build that was more suitable to a Novice. The reviews and build logs for the Lady Isabella were interesting and I thought they would give me some needed experience before I started planking the main hull of the Conny. I will not replicate the excellent build logs of DB789, James H, and Blue Ensign but will make some comments from a Novice perspective. The instructions by Chris Watton, Vanguard Models have excellent pictures and precise steps and language. Instruction #3 should include a note that part #58 when installed needs to extend beyond the superstructure. If you were to put it upside down, the panels 56 and 57 would not be flush with the top of #58. That is a mistake, I probably would have made if I had not had so many mistakes on Conny 1. If you dry fit all the 4 parts prior to gluing that becomes obvious. The bulk heads are precisely laser cut and the bevels are premarked. Although the instruction 5, advises to fit and glue the bulkheads in place on the keel, I would recommend that after you have beveled 1-3 and 12-14 bulkheads, dry fit them and then, bevel parts 16-19, and dry fit them with the three fore bulkhead and three aft bulkheads before gluing in the bulkheads. The aft bulkhead fillers are extremely fragile. Other build logs indicated that the builders had broken the filler pieces so I took that to heart and used a thin file and filed them so that they fit smoothly. N