Lady Eleanor by DB789 - FINISHED - Vanguard Models - 1:64 - Fifie

This is my build log for the Fifie. I'm a beginner to wooden boat modelling and this is my first build.

Any advice or criticism is very welcome - I have a lot to learn! 

My first impressions of the kit is that the instructions and plans are excellent and highly accessible to me as a beginner. The parts are beautifully laser cut with only tiny tabs holding the parts in their wooden sheets. The materials feel very high quality too. So far I am hugely impressed by Vanguard and hope to make more of their models in the future. 

So the build started today, the bulkheads have been bevelled and mounted on the false keel with the lower deck in place (unglued) to keep them aligned. Leaving it to dry overnight before progressing further.  

Fifie 1.jpg

Fifie 2.jpg

Fifie 3.jpg

Fifie 4.jpg

Dan

Current Build: HM Gun Brig Adder (Vanguard Models, 1:64)

Previous Builds: Fifie (Vanguard Models, 1:64), Nisha (Vanguard Models, 1:64), Zulu (Vanguard Models, 1:64), Saucy Jack (Vanguard Models, 1:64), Erycina (Vanguard Models, 1:64), HMS Alert (Vanguard Models, 1:64), Grecian (Vanguard Models, 1:64), Ranger (Vanguard Models, 1:64)

Waiting to be Built: Speedy (Vanguard Models, 1:64)

A little more progress today. Lower deck glued in. Infill parts have been bevelled and glued in at bow and stern. Fish hatch side walls installed. 

Again very impressed by how well the parts fit together and align with little effort. Quality of the MDF is great too with no splintering when bevelled. 

So far relatively straightforward - going to get a lot more complicated shortly with the bulkheads and planking!

One question - I have been using Titebond PVC and have not been diluting this down with water. Do I need to dilute it, the instructions suggest that I should? Many thanks

Fifie 6.jpg

Fifie 7.jpg

Fifie 5.jpg

Dan