US Brig Syren by Jaggy - Model Shipways - 1:64

Hello, 

This is my first build log, and hopefully my first completed ship (I've started a few, now I'm older and wiser and hope to see it through).  I picked the Syren because of the excellent documentation and also the available resources on this forum.  

My kit arrived on Thursday last week.  I will spare you the usual pictures of the box and it's contents as that is well documented already.   In doing an inventory of the box I found I have received four anchors and no ships wheel.  I'm also short on one of the dowels, which was supposed to have 2x24" lengths but I had 36" total supplied.   I emailed model expos parts department but have yet to hear back from them.  This is not wholly unexpected as I've found their electronic communication to be non existent.  When i placed my order I received no confirmation, when it shipped they sent no notice, and when I wrote to ask for a tracking number I got no reply.  Based on that I can only assume they will send the missing part out and it will show up, just unexpectedly.  All that said, I really like model expo and their product.  I just wish the communicated better.

So, on to the build.  I'm following the practicum as closely as I can.  I left my rabbit strip clamped in place overnight so it would take the curve, and then glued it the next day and waited a further 24 hours before continuing. I used that time to clean up the bulkheads (some of which were not fully cut and required quite a bit of surgery to remove from their sheets), and roughed in their bevels.  I also sanded the Stem to fit the figurehead nicely.

The following day I dry fit the bulkheads and measured my bulkhead filler blocks:

post-23827-0-38744400-1455589455_thumb.jpg

post-23827-0-60986100-1455589469_thumb.jpg